Darien Police: If Your Kids Are Drinking, Police May Charge You

Night Police Lights CT State Police on Facebook March 30-17 uploaded 06-20-17

Photo from Connecticut State Police on Facebook

These emergency lights from a Connecticut State Police vehicle are only some of the lights that should cause you to slow down and move into a farther lane. Do it for fire vehicles, ambulances and tow trucks, too.

Download PDF

At this time of year, the Darien Police Department typically sees an increase in the number of calls for gatherings where juveniles are consuming alcohol.

This increase can be attributed to prom season, the end of the school year, and the return of college students to town.

The Darien Police wanted to take this opportunity to remind parents and homeowners about the criminal consequences of allowing the consumption of alcohol by juveniles at their homes.

— an announcement from Darien Police

Various social-host and underage-possession charges can be brought against any parent or homeowner who either; actively participates in allowing juveniles to possess or procure alcohol, or passively allows the possession/consumption to take place.

Most people are aware that allowing kids to drink in their home is illegal, but many don’t realize that the law allows for charges to be brought in situations where the police feel parents “should” have known underage drinking is a potential.

An example of this would be allowing your child to have 20 of their friends over, and for the group to be unsupervised in the basement of the home. If police were summoned to the home, and determined that alcohol was being consumed in that basement, the parents could be charged as they should have anticipated the potential for alcohol consumption given the circumstances.

06820 campaign image 09-29-17

The Darien Police suggest taking active steps to assure that any gatherings at your home are safe and alcohol free. Checking on gatherings, knowing who’s in your home, and talking with your kids are examples of good first-steps.

Taking these proactive measures ensures the safety of your children and their friends, and protects you from the potential criminal consequences of alcohol being present without your knowledge.

The safety and wellbeing of teens in Darien is the primary concern of the Darien Police Department when it comes to underage alcohol consumption. For that reason we would prefer there to be no incidents of underage alcohol consumption, but also understand that poor choices can/will be made.

We provide this information in the hopes that understanding the potential negative consequences prior to a “drinking decision” will lead to a more educated choice being made.

If at any time you are aware of a situation where minors are consuming alcohol, we urge you to contact us via phone or internet-based tip (done from our website) to ensure the safety of those involved.

The men and women of the Darien Police Department wish everyone a happy and safe end to the school year and beginning of summer. As always, if you have any questions or concerns in regards to any of the information presented, please don’t hesitate to call us.

Applicable Charges:

* CGS 30-89b2: Possession of Alcohol by a Minor

o Prohibits possession of alcohol by a minor in any public or private location

o Infraction: $136

o 30 Day License Suspension (caught driving = misdemeanor arrest)

o If not yet licensed- 150 day delay in obtaining a license

* CGS 30-86b2: Sale or Delivery of Alcohol to a Minor

o Prohibits the sale or delivery of alcohol to a minor by any person

o Class E Felony

o Up to $3500 fine and/or 18 months in jail

o Of note: This statute applies when provider of alcohol to minor is themselves, a minor

* CGS 30-89aa2: “Social Host Law”

o Requires any person who possesses or has control over any dwelling unit or private property to make reasonable efforts to halt the possession of alcohol by a minor on such property.

o Class A Misdemeanor

o Up to 12 months in jail and/or a $2000 fine

One thought on “Darien Police: If Your Kids Are Drinking, Police May Charge You

  1. Pingback: Police: Mother Supplied Booze at Birthday Party for Underage Son - DarieniteDarienite

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *