These 24 Band, Chorus, Orchestra Students to Represent Darien at Music Festival

Download PDF

The Darien Public Schools Music Department is proud to announce that 24 outstanding musicians from Darien High School have been chosen through a highly competitive audition process to perform at the Connecticut Music Educators Association Western Region Music Festival.

an announcement from the Darien Public Schools Music Department

The honors music festival will take place at the Darien High School Auditorium on Friday and Saturday, Jan. 11 to 12.

The students will have the privilege of working in Band, Orchestra, Chorus, and Jazz ensembles with some of Connecticut’s most accomplished high school musicians conducted by nationally renowned conductors and educators.

“The students chosen for participation in the Connecticut Western Region Music Festival have consistently worked and studied over several years to develop their musical skills and been chosen as among the finest high school musicians in Western Connecticut,” said Richard Sadlon, director of music for the school district. “We are all extremely proud of their musical accomplishments.”

These Students

The students representing Darien High at the 2019 Connecticut Western Region Honors Music Festival are:


  • Jack Armstrong, trombone; Shea Ehrhard, French horn; Ben Henry, clarinet; John Lochtefeld, baritone sax; Grant McIntyre, tenor sax; Celia Mundt, flute; Anna Schorr, clarinet; Evan Tong, clarinet; Doug Werner, alto sax; and Jacob Won, clarinet.


  • Frank Drugge, French Horn; John Fallon, mallets; Elizabeth Garijo-Garde, cello; Andrew Qin, violin; Meghan Shaughnessy, viola.


  • Eleanor Chase, soprano; Henry Domenici, tenor; Juliette Kieman, soprano; Elle Mitrano, soprano; Amina Mobarik, alto; Caeleigh O’Connor, alto; Caroline Orphanos, soprano; Ethan Schrader, bass; and Henry Steinthal, bass.

All of the students who participated in the Connecticut Western Region Festival will be eligible to audition for the Connecticut All-State Festival ensembles.

Congratulations to all of the students and their teachers, Mr. Christopher Andrade, Chorus; Mr. Jonathan Grauer, Band; and Ms. Jane Minnis, Orchestra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *