Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

If You Love a Good Mystery, Consider Going to CrimeCONN in Stamford

June 23 @ 8:30 am - 4:00 pm

Ferguson Library is hosting a one-day mystery lovers’ conference all day on Saturday, June 23 in the third-floor Auditorium of the library’s DiMattia Building downtown. Readers and writers are all invited.

The conference enriches readers, aspiring writers and professional writers alike.  Panel topics include: forensics and law enforcement experts sharing their insights, mystery writing for the big and little screen, and a behind-the-scenes look into the writer’s craft and modern publishing.

Panel discussions, interviews with celebrity authors, books signings and more. Hear directly from the people who solve crimes, write about crime, bring amazing stories from book to screen, and share insights you can trust whether you’re a fan or a mystery writer yourself.

Register.

This event was organized in partnership with Mystery Writers of America – NYChapter.

___________

From the conference’s Constant Contact web page:

Panels and Interviews

Real to Reel.  Get the inside scoop on the how it’s all done in the battle zone between literature and show biz. 
Panelists:
Katie Torpey
Tom Straw
David Rich
David Handler

The Thrill of Fact-based Fiction.  Learn first-hand the joys and challenges of research in the modern age of Google and Wikipedia, and when good old shoe-leather research is essential.
Moderator:      John Valeri
Panelists:
James Benn
Jane Cleland
Karen Olson

As Real As It Gets.   Death investigator Michelle Clark interviews Dr. Kristen Hartnett-McCann, Forensic Anthropologist with Connecticut’s Chief Medical Examiner – experts on the front line of the war on crime, and eyewitnesses to solving real-life mysteries every day.    

I Did It My Way.  How to master craft, control and promotion when forging your path to self-publishing. 
Moderator:      Tom Straw
Panelists:
Bill Curatolo
Jill Fletcher
Jeff Markowitz

How Publishing Works in the Real World.  Insights into how successful mystery authors launch, maintain and super-charge their careers.
Moderator:      Chris Knopf
Panelists:
Neil Nyren
Gina Panettieri
Sheryl Kayne

To Thine Own Self Be True.   A candid conversation between Charles Salzberg and guest of honor SJ Rozan.

Details

Date:
June 23
Time:
8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:

Venue

Darien, CT United States + Google Map