Caucus Monday Night for Registered Republicans to Vote on Picking Darien Candidates



GOP elephant, the party mascot, invented in this cartoon by Thomas Nast

Download PDF

A caucus for registered Republicans in Darien will be held Monday, July 22 to endorse candidates for 15 town offices in the November election, the Republican Town Committee announced.

Several new candidates are replacing town officials in various elective offices, including: Caryn Diller for town clerk (replacing Donna E. Rajczewski as town clerk), Christa McNamara replacing Susan Marks on the Board of Selectmen, Taylor Carter replacing James McLaughlin on the Board of Finance, John Sini Jr. replacing Christa McNamara on the Board of Education, Cara Gately and Larry Thomas Warble Jr., replacing John Sini Jr. and Elizabeth Riva on the Planning & Zoning Commission, and Alan Hyatt Jr. replacing Louis Tarnowsky Jr. as a town constable.

The town committee has endorsed these candidates for each office, but with enough petition signatures delivered to RTC officials by Wednesday, July 17, other candidates may also be put up for consideration by the caucus (or run in a primary afterward, which is more difficult):

  • Jayme J. Stevenson for First Selectman;
  • Charles Alfred (“Kip”) Koons Jr., and Christa S. McNamara for Selectmen;
  • Caryn Diller for Town Clerk;
  • Joan D. Hendrickson for Town Treasurer;
  • Kathleen M. Larkins for Tax Collector;
  • Taylor W. Carter and James Palen for Board of Finance;
  • Dorothy J. McCammon and John R. Sini Jr., for Board of Education;
  • Richard P. Dolcetti for Board of Assessment Appeals;
  • Cara Gately and Larry Thomas Warble Jr., for Planning & Zoning Commission; and
  • Louis J. Calastro and Alan T. Hyatt Jr. for Constables.

The Monday, July 22 caucus takes place at 7 p.m. in the Auditorium at Darien Town Hall, 2 Renshaw Road.

According to the town committee’s announcement:

There will be no nominations from the floor of the caucus. Candidates may not file petitions for more than one office. Such petitions must be submitted on or before Wednesday, July 17, 2019, to the Darien RTC Chair, Chris Taylor, 93 West Ave., Darien, or to the Secretary, Ann-Gail Hult, 109 Kings Highway South, Darien.

Additional information is available at the Darien Republican Town Committee’s website,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *