Michael Burke Sara Parent

Democratic Nominees for Board of Ed: Incumbent Michael Burke and CDSP Co-President Sara Parent

Download PDF

The Democratic Town Committee announced Thursday that Michael Burke and Sara Parent have been nominated as candidates for Darien’s Board of Education. — an announcement from the Darien Democratic Town Committee

“Michael brings a wealth of experience and a steady hand, and Sara brings her experience as a highly involved parent and a former educator to the Board of Education,” DTC Chair David Bayne said. “At a time when the COVID-19 crisis is testing the very foundations of how education is being delivered to our children, Michael and Sara represent the kind of thoughtful and innovative leadership that is precisely what Darien needs in order to continue providing unsurpassed educational opportunities to all of our children,” Bayne said. “Together they represent the best that Darien has to offer and our town is particularly fortunate that they have chosen to run for the Board of Education during this unprecedented time.” Michael Burke is seeking his third term on the Board of Education and Sara Parent her first.

Darien Democrat and Republican Caucuses Endorse Town Committee Slates

Download PDF

The committees that run Darien’s Republican and Democratic parties were each ratified by a party caucus — the GOP on Monday and Democrats on Tuesday. Here are the members endorsed by each caucus (members who are officers of each the party committee are noted):
(21 endorsements)

—Sayan Chakraborty of Penfield Lane

—Alexander Davidson of Delafield Island Road — Vice Chair

—James Demark of St. Nicholas Road

—Bonnie Frate Dora of Old Parish Road

—Christopher Emme of Holmes Court

—Robert Fiordaliso of Fairview Avenue

—John Davies Goodwin Jr. of McLaren Road

—Robert Hulick of Nolen Lane

—Ann-Gail Hult of Old Kings Highway South — Secretary

—John King of Royle Road

—Tracy Marra of Sunswyck Road

—Douglas McKay of Gardiner Street

—Belinda Bewkes Metzger of Ox Ridge Road

—Marcy Minnick of Hoyt Street

—Michael Patrick Murray of Miles Road

—Parker Rand-Ricciardi of Berringer Road

—Raymond Slavin of McLaren Road South

—James Edward Solberg of Contentment Island

—Christopher Taylor of West Avenue — Chair

—Rachel Taylor of the same address on West Avenue

—Bert von Stuelpnagel of St. Nicholas Road — Treasurer
(23 endorsements)

—Frank Adelman of Harriet Lane East — Vice Chair

—David Bayne of Windsor Road — Chair

—Sean Bunoski of Edgerton Street

—Francisco Cardona of Camp Avenue

— John “JC” Carter of Hecker Avenue

—Christine Castles of Dubois Street — Treasurer

—Loren Gomez of West Avenue

—Susan Gray of Brookside Road

—Elizabeth Hall of Sunset Road — Secretary

— Dan Nalawade of Winding Lane

—Wyatt Piedra of Kensett Lane

—Margaret Rague of Dubois Street

—Ann Reed of Libby Lane — Data Director

—Rob Richards of Edmund Street — Deputy Treasurer

—Glenn Ritch of Hale Lane

—Samy Sharad of Old Oak Road

—Danica Tarin of West Avenue

—David Tarin of the same address on West Avenue

—Barbara Thorne of Dickinson Road

—Cecil Wade of Middlesex Road

—Lisa Yarnell of Kensett Lane

—David Malouf of Lighthouse Way

—Jean Sweeney of the same address on Lighthouse Way