Letter: Board of Selectmen Thanks These Darien Residents Stepping Down from Town Boards

Download PDF

To the editor:

“Volunteering is the ultimate exercise in democracy, you vote in elections once a year but when you volunteer, you vote ever day about the kind of community you want to live in.” — Anonymous

The Darien Community thanks the following people who have stepped down from their board or commission in 2017:

—Hugh Balloch — Advisory Commission on Coastal Waters

—Timothy Macdonald — ARB

—Sig Buchmayr, Sabrina Harris, Sandy Filmer, Cindy Ryan, Suzanne Schutte, Jeff Smith — Beautification

—Michael Harman, Sara Zuro — Board of Education

—David Lopiano, Bruce Orr — Board of Finance

—Rob Richards — Board of Selectmen, Blight Review Board

—Allison Stolar — Energy & Recycling Advisory Committee

—Keith Kearney, Ed Sweeney – Environmental Protection Commission

—Jan Raymond — Housing Authority

—Landon Reesor — Human Services

—Phil Kraft — Monuments and Ceremonies

—Marc Ioli — Parks and Recreation Commission

—Susan Cameron, Eric Voigt — Planning and Zoning

—Steven Anderson, Stanley Buchesky, Kate Haueison, Marlene Hayes, Brian McKay, Susan Morrison, Nanci Natale, William Peters, Mathew Raben, Joanne Sawitsky —Representative Town Meeting

—Catherine Beckman, Marilyn Hart, Nanci Natale — TV79 Board of Advisors

—Richard Wood — Zoning Board of Appeals

Darien is truly blessed to benefit from the dedication of so many wonderful volunteers. Thank you Thank you Thank you.

We wish you all a very Happy and Healthy Holiday season and a wonderful 2018!


The Darien Board of Selectmen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *