21 Darien High School Students Commended by 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program

Download PDF

Darien High School Principal Ellen Dunn announced today that these 21 students at the school have been named “Commended Students” in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program:

Grace Aronsohn, Thomas Brown, Folke Bruno, Megan Cunningham, Matthew Daileader, Sofia Fea Ruiz, Thomas Finnegan, Robert Gaaserud, Catherine Garrett, Nicholas Giotis, Stefan Inzer, Charlotte Juan, Lily Kosnik, John Lowder, Manvi Malhotra, Elizabeth Markham, Caroline Orphanos, Madison Pomeroy, Johan Trippitelli, Helen Van den Broek, and Douglas Werner.

DHS Commended Scholars National Merit Scholarship Program 2018-2019

Photo from Darien High School

Darien High School’s commended students in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program.

A letter of commendation from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be presented by Mrs. Dunn to these scholastically talented seniors.

Approximately 34,000 commended students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise.

— an announcement from Darien High School

Although they will not continue in the 2019 competition for Merit Scholarship awards, commended students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2019 competition by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

“The young men and women being named commended students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” an NMSC spokesperson said.

“These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation.  We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *