Connecticut Tax Free Sales Week Runs From Sunday, Aug 18 to Saturday, Aug 24

Download PDF

You know school is starting soon when the state announces “Tax Free Week.”

Per statute the 19th annual Tax Free Sales Week, which begins on the third Sunday of each August, is right around the corner.

This is a great opportunity for some back-to-school shopping and to prepare for the fall season.

Certain clothing and footwear items under $100 will be exempt from the state’s sale tax during this time.

This year the week runs from Sunday, Aug. 18 to  Saturday, Aug. 24.

Back to school

Photo from

You can’t see it in their cherubic little faces, but these school kids, backpacks on and headed back to school, are absolutely ecstatic that their moms and dads don’t have to pay Connecticut’s 6.35% sales tax. And if they aren’t, their parents couldn’t care less anyway.

The one-week event eliminates Connecticut’s 6.35% sales tax on clothing and footwear costing less than $100 per item.

Tax Free Week was first enacted in 2000, and applies to most clothing and footwear purchases intended for everyday use.

Goods not covered under the program include, but are not limited to:

  • Clothing or footwear specifically designed for athletic activities: football cleats, specialty boots for fishing, hiking, skiing and other activities, as well as wet suits, helmets and headbands, etc.
  • Accessories: jewelry, handbags, luggage, umbrellas, wallets, watches, etc.

View examples of individual items that are exempt or taxable during Sales Tax Free Sales Week.

This article previously was published in

— This article was published by originally on Aug. 13. The time stamp was changed on Aug. 17 to move the link higher on the home page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *